The difference in women's football

10 players FlowSports in World Cup squad Holland


National coach Sarina Wiegman has announced the selection for the world championship to be held this summer in France. The complete 23-member player group consists of:

Lineth Beerensteyn (Bayern Munich), Dominique Bloodworth (Arsenal), Anouk Dekker (Montpellier HSC), Merel van Dongen (Real Betis), Daniëlle van de Donk (Arsenal), Kika van Es (Ajax), Loes Geurts (Kopparbergs/Göteborg FC), Stefanie van der Gragt (FC Barcelona), Jackie Groenen (1. FFC. Frankfurt), Ellen Jansen (Ajax), Renate Jansen (FC Twente), Inessa Kaagman (Everton), Danique Kerkdijk (Bristol City), Lize Kop (Ajax), Desiree van Lunteren (SC Freiburg), Lieke Martens (FC Barcelona), Vivianne Miedema (Arsenal), Liza van der Most (Ajax), Victoria Pelova (ADO The Hague), Jill Roord (Bayern Munich), Shanice van de Sanden (Olympique Lyon), Sherida Spitse (Vålerenga) and Sari van Veenendaal (Arsenal).

On the standby list are the following seven players: Cheyenne van den Goorbergh (FC Twente), Barbara Lorsheyd (ADO The Hague), Aniek Nouwen (PSV), Katja Snoeijs (PSV), Ashleigh Weerden (FC Twente), Jennifer Vreugdenhil (Valencia) and Siri Worm (Everton).

On Friday May 24th, the official list of 23 players, including their numbers, has to be handed in at world football association FIFA. Wiegman can, in case of (serious) injuries, change the selection up to 24 hours before the first World Cup group meeting with New Zealand.

At the World Championships – from June 7 through July 7 in France – the Orange Women will meet New Zealand (Tuesday June 11, 3 pm), Cameroon (Saturday June 15, 3 p) and Canada (Thursday June 20, 6 pm) successively.

Just before leaving for France, the Dutch women’s team will play a practice international against fellow World Cup participant Australia. The OrangeLionesses and the ‘Matildas’ will meet each other on Saturday 1 June from 6.15 pm in the Philips Stadium in Eindhoven.

Back to homepage

FlowSports English